#diffimooc week 5: MinecraftEdu challenge

The best part about this week’s MinecraftEdu challenge for me was playing the role of the student and building.  I spent time subsistence hunting, started building an igloo, then went on to build a cabin at fish camp near a river.  However, my building skills are sub par compared to some of my colleagues.  I went back into MinecraftEdu to create my video and I couldn’t find any of the stuff I had built, so the screenshots I took from that night will have to do.  Then I was going to make a video of some of the teacher tools I tried out Tuesday night, but there were no students playing, so many of the tools didn’t show up.

Screen Shot 2015-02-10 at 8.40.30 PM

Here is the screenshot of the igloo I started.  Then I got frustrated because I couldn’t figure out how to make rounded edges, so I moved on to my fish camp.

Screen Shot 2015-02-10 at 8.38.35 PM

This is the screenshot of my fish camp.

 

On Tuesday I spent some time in teacher role.  I tried out the different teacher tools: teleporting students to me, teleporting myself to students.  I froze students, which only made them mad.  The most frustrating thing for me in teacher role was not being able to figure out who was causing trouble.  Mia was building an ice rink and someone put a bunch of cows on the rink.  It happened so fast, there was no time to react.  It was so different from teaching in a the real world and dealing with trouble maker students face to face.  I need more practice as a teacher.

 

One thought on “#diffimooc week 5: MinecraftEdu challenge

  1. In many ways, we have to re-learn how to manage a classroom when it’s “virtual” instead of a physical space. I had to let go of what I thought student interactions and classroom management looked like and started from scratch in the virtual environment of MinecraftEdu. Yes, there were days in Givercraft, I just let the students resolve their conflicts, but there were also days (sometimes it was just moments after the misbehavior) when the same students would demonstrate amazing building skills or negotiate resources and collaborate on tasks regardless of whether I was hovering above or not. The game environment gives much more ownership to the student than we are typically comfortable with in a physical classroom, but maybe that’s why we need to use these games. I wrote in my blog that students need to experiment and discover consequences to risky behavior in a “safe space” where that is exactly what they are supposed to do – work it out through trial and error. I was a good brat in the game yelling for help all the time in the chat, but I also left without one second of video (I forgot!); the fact that students can navigate, build, craft, hunt, mine, chat, and so much more in a stressful game environment is an amazing and awesome thing! It’s exciting to think that those are transferable skills that could be applied elsewhere in the “real” physical classroom!

Leave a Reply

