#seaccr Week 10: Data Plans

How will I analyze my data?  Why am I making these choices?

I will analyze student’s AIMSweb scores and expression. I plan on comparing the student’s rate of fluency from September when the school did the universal screening until the first time I assessed their fluency, compared to their rate of fluency from when I assessed them until the end of November after using iTalk. I will also use the reading expressions rubric I created to assess the students by assessing the student’s first recording compared to their last recording after using iTalk for the month of November. This will allow me to see if there are benefits to using voice recording technology for fluency instruction.

5 thoughts on “#seaccr Week 10: Data Plans

  1. Alison, I wanted to let you know that I shared your idea about using iTalk with one of our SPED teachers a couple of weeks ago. I walked into her room when she was having one of her students read aloud from a book they were using. I told her about the iTalk app and how her kids could use it to hear themselves read. She was absolutely thrilled with the idea. It’s pretty cool how your research is already having a positive effect on students you’ve never even met!

  2. Alison,
    I think this is such a great way to monitor fluency growth. Here is a program called Six Minute Solutions, which is a program that has the students read fluently to another student who marks them down as their partner is reading, then they switch. They have a really nice way to represent their own fluency on a graph so the students get instant gratification. I could see you use the app and have the student see their own errors, then record it on a graph. This way they are collecting the data for you and you. http://www.wou.edu/~brownbr/Classes/The_Six_Minute_Solution/1_Six%20Minute%20Solution_PrimaryLvl/1_SixMinSolutnPrLvl_ppi-103.pdf

    • Thanks for the resource, the cover of the program says it geared for K-2 and remedial 3rd grade students, but I could totally see using this with 3rd and 4th grade students. I will have to try and remember this resource when I go back to teaching regular ed classes.

  3. You have a lot of data that will provide a nice quantitive view of the results. We’re in different courses, so I’m not sure what your exact guidelines are, but if you guys are looking at anything qualitative, don’t underestimate the benefits of observation and notes. Judging fluency is your primary focus, and since you’re testing for it that’s where your results will lay. However, don’t be surprised if you see other benefits from utilizing this program that may justify it, not just fluency gains. You won’t be testing for them but they could show up, nonetheless.

Leave a Reply

