#seaccr Week 9: Data or lack there of…

On Friday my plan was to AIMSWeb assess the 3rd grade students in my study for their current level of fluency. However, it was Halloween and the class was doing a pumpkin math and carving activity and I also had other technology obligations to attend to. On Friday I was able to get a copy of the student’s AIMSWeb fluency scores taken in August. My plan for next week is to go to the classroom on Tuesday, during their daily 5 time, and show the students how to use iTalk. I will stay in the room to assist students in using iTalk. The classroom teacher has agreed to have the students use the app twice a week. I am also hoping to assess the students on Tuesday, so I can look at their rate of growth from August. Another problem I am facing is my schedule for the month of November. My original plan was to assess the student’s fluency once a week. However, my schools want me to spend a week at their school working with teachers and students on the new KITE software for the Alaska AMP test, formally SBA’s. I am thinking of asking the classroom teacher to assess the students the weeks I am not able to make it to her school. Basically, my data is a work in progress and I can’t wait to get the students started on Tuesday.

4 thoughts on “#seaccr Week 9: Data or lack there of…

  1. Ali,
    I think your idea of having the teacher collect the data is a great idea, even though it is difficult to push this back to the teacher. Then when you can collect data, you can put in your report anything you and the classroom teacher noticed about each others’ information. The same AIMSweb tool and iTalk tool used by different teachers will be consistent in most respects. It is important to identify inconsistencies (inter-rater effects), and even adds to your qualitative notes.

  2. I agree that having the other teacher collect data is a viable option. The data you get should be just as useful and you can compare it to the data you collect when you are in the classroom. This may give you a better indicator of the effectiveness of the tools you are using in your study. This may actually be a benefit in your study rather than an inconvenience.

  3. Robert Burns was right when he wrote about “the best laid plans of mice and men,” huh?! Classroom research is powerful, indeed, but the realities of what happens in a classroom can make it difficult to carry out research according to a strict schedule. For my district, as well, regulary-scheduled assessments like AIMS and MAP eat up time, and we, too, are trying to work in time to provide practice with the AMP technology test. There just aren’t enough hours in the day! The fact that you are working with a classroom teacher is especially impressive. Not only will your research generate data on the influence of using iTalk, but you will help a colleague learn how to use the tool, as well. Nice!

    • Our district is looking into using MAP in the near future. Since teacher evaluations will need to have data showing student achievement, our district thinks it will be beneficial to have another means of data. I think data is important and it can help guide what is being taught and the student’s needs, but gosh we sure do test alot. I am not familiar with MAP. I am hoping it will give me good data on my students, so I can see where the gaps of learning may be.

Leave a Reply

