#seaccr Week 8: Preparing for data collection

In preparing for data collection I am collaborating with the teacher who has agreed to allow her students to use the iTalk app. When I am at her school I will be in the classroom, while the students are using the app, to assist with any technology problems. I have agreed to supply the teacher with the 3rd grade level reading passages. The first week of data collection I plan on showing the students how to use the iTalk app. I also plan to assess the students using AIMSWeb and the reading rubric I created. Each week I will use AIMSWeb to assess the student’s fluency scores. As I am writing this I am wondering if I should also make observational notes of those students who have difficulty using the app versus those who don’t. Then when I analyze my data I can see if there was a correlation between student’s scores with the students who needed help using the app. Or am I just adding another variable?

 

Most of my work will come when I’m analyzing the data. I don’t want to misrepresent data and/or skew my data with too many variables. The online article Organizing Your Social Sciences Research Paper listed nine elements to keep in mind when using quantitative methods. Some of the elements include explain the data collected, report unanticipated events, and use tables to provide exact values.   I will keep the nine elements in mind while analyzing my data.

 

On a related topic, I am thinking of changing my research question. Currently my question is:

Does using iTalk for repeated reading practice helping improve reading fluency by increasing rate, increasing accuracy, and improving expression?

I am thinking of changing it to:

After using the iTalk app did student’s fluency, accuracy and expression improve or decrease?

 

References:

USC Libraries. (2014, October 24). Organizing your social sciences research paper. Retrieved from http://libguides.usc.edu/content.php?pid=83009&sid=615867

 

3 thoughts on “#seaccr Week 8: Preparing for data collection

  1. Hi Ali,

    I ask myself that question often: Am I just adding another variable? Ift is difficult to keep these narrowed down for me. However, I think that gathering data is gathering information that can be interpreted through many different lenses. Sometimes I find something I was not looking for, but is still very significant.

    “Did fluency, accuracy and expression improve or decrease?” This question, I believe, will lead the research into meaningful ‘Why’ questions.

    Aleta

  2. Ali,
    I think making notes of the students who aren’t getting the app will be extremely beneficial. You will be aware of it, which will help you to push in figuring out what will help that student to figure it out. I was curious what the 9 elements were that are listed in the article, so I went to the site. I see now that they are the 9 steps to organizing research papers, so I was confused on where you were going with using this for data collection. Lastly, I love how you have changed your research question. It seems more focused and direct.

Leave a Reply

