Week 2 Reflection

During the twitter season I learned that I have to follow the other people in class if I want to see their tweets. I feel like I made the same mistake in a previous class too. I got it figured out and it all worked out in the end. I enjoyed the conversation on Twitter of sharing resources and comparing young versus old when it pertains to technology. In my current position I am finding that typically the older the teacher the more they struggle with using technology, sometimes to no fault of their own, they just don’t have some of the background knowledge. During the week in the blog communication it seemed like there was an underlying topic of the importance to use technology and finding the balance with the struggle of having time to learn about the technology. This week in my blog responses I tried to share some insights I have learned in my 10 years of teaching with incorporating technology. Lastly, I am struggling to come up with a topic to research. I have the date of the bibliography due looming over my head, so I feel great pressure to figure out what I should focus on as a topic. Dr. Lee mentioned we can use tools/ideas we already are doing in the classroom. That gave me the idea to do the effect of using iTalk to record reading fluency and the increase of AIMSWeb fluency scores. However, this year I started a four-year position in my district of a technology coach. I have four elementary schools I service for educational technology needs and helping teachers incorporate technology. I go to a different school each day of the week. I am still learning the ins and outs of my schools and getting to know the staff at each school. I am learning a new job and my role in my schools and to add the research on top of it is stressing me out. I don’t want to over think the topic either and choose something that would be too hard, because that would stress me out as well.

Leave a Reply

